X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First Gaming PC

Hi there! I'm pretty new to PC gaming,but decided that this summer I'm going to get my first real gaming pc. Up until now, I've been playing games primarily on an xbox 360 and (don't laugh) a macbook pro retina. While this was fine initially, I decided it's high time to get a bit more serious. So, any advice on where to look to buy one for noob like me? I almost definitely wanna go pre-built, as I'm not yet comfortable enough with the hardware to go full on custom build, but so far some of the more appealing options are an alienware X51 or a custom rig from ibuypower or cyberpowerpc. Thoughts and suggestiong welcome! Thanks everyone!

Forgot to mention, it would be almost strictly for gaming. I'd be playing everything from minecraft to crysis 3, so I'd want a pretty powerful rig. Thanks again!

Comment

Well, building a custom system isn't too difficult. There's tons of YouTube videos online that teach you step by step how to do it. We generally do a build parts list that's updated regularly, so you could check those for inspiration on what parts you need.

Best Gaming PC Computer Builds | Custom PC Review

Otherwise, CyberPowerPC and IbuyPower are good companies and they do a good job putting the systems together. With Alienware, you're a bit limited on what kind of hardware you want in terms of the motherboard, power supply, etc. and they usually run a bit expensive so I'm not a huge fan.

Comment

Thanks man! In that case, between ibuypower and cyberpowerpc, do you think one is better than the other? I've heard mixed reviews about both, some really good and some downright awful. Also, since my room is pretty small, is there a good SFF case you can recommend that either of them might have?

Comment